Hey facilitators, let's stop looping

Learn to make better decisions by sketching it out.

Ideas and tools inside:

  1. Tony Robbins and Mr. Ligtenberg on better decision-making.

  2. How to draw on napkins.

This Facilitators on Fire issue is together with joebart Facilitation. We’re building a platform to match facilitators with the right clients. Get on the waiting list now.

Stop making big decisions in your head

Anthony Robbins says all decision-making is better after you have put a pen on paper. It’s a great way to stop the endless loop of thinking and discover what you really want to do.

Whenever I was stuck, my high school physics teacher Mr. Ligtenberg told me “sketch it, Joe Bart!” He was right.

“Sometimes what feels complex in our own heads becomes vastly simplified on paper.“

Anthony Robbins

Grab a napkin and a pen

You’re a facilitator. Maybe you are even a graphic facilitator. If you have your clients sketching or drawing or writing things out on sticky notes to help them figure things out, why not do it for yourself too? I don’t mean in the space, I mean in YOUR space.

I’m kind of particular about my notebooks and pens. But a napkin works great too.

And just for fun, here are 17 napkin sketches by famous architects.

If you find this newsletter helpful, could you forward it to a facilitator friend or two you know?

Facilitators on Fire is business fuel for facilitators.

I remix and share ideas and tools from experts to show you how you can help more clients and love the work you do behind your facilitation work.

Have a question or idea you want to talk with me about? Just reply to this email. It may take me a few days to get back to you, but I will!

Get the deets on me, Joe Bartmann, at joebart.com.